Rockstar Games is temporarily shutting down access to the online modes of its biggest games–GTA V’s Grand Theft Auto Online and Red Dead Redemption 2’s Red Dead Online–today for a period of two hours to show support for Black Lives Matter and to honor the slain George Floyd.

The servers for both games are now down (the downtime began at 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET), and they will come back online at 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET. The offline components for the two games should not be affected. You can see the message posted in Red Dead Redemption 2 below; when GameSpot checked, we did not see any equivalent notice in GTA.

In addition to the gesture, Rockstar asked its Twitter followers to find a charity they can donate to in order to show support for black communities, businesses, and civil rights. Charities on the list include the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, National Black Child Development Institute, and the Equal Justice Initiative, as well as broader civil rights groups such as the American Civil Liberties Union Foundation.

Continue Reading at GameSpot

 

Author Gabe Gurwin

Original Post by GameSpot

Caffeine Gaming is a a new and exciting site which pulls together the hottest news and information from the best gaming sites around the world. All here in one place which makes it easy for you to stay completely connected with the industry and the latest developments. We are also a site which publishes your own views and content to enable readers to benefit from each other's opinions and experiences. Make Caffeine Gaming your daily fix.